PART A

Report to:	Annual Council
Date of Meeting:	23 May 2017
Report of:	Democratic Services Manager
Title:	Notice of Constitution of Political Groups

1.0 Summary

Regulations made under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 require formal notice to be given each year of the composition of political groups. This information also enables the requirements of the relevant section of that Act dealing with political balance on Council Committees to be complied with.

2.0 **Recommendations**

That Council notes the composition of the political groups on the Council as at 23 May 2017.

Contact Officer:

For further information on this report please contact Caroline Harris, Democratic Services Manager, telephone extension 8372. Email <u>caroline.harris@watford.gov.uk</u>

Report approved by the Head of Democracy & Governance.

3.0 **Detailed discussion**

Details of Leaders, Deputy Leaders, Group Secretaries and membership are as follows:

Liberal Democrat Group

Leader:	Councillor Taylor
Deputy Leader	Councillor Barks
Group Secretary	Councillor Bolton
Group Members:	Councillors: Barks, Bolton, Cavinder,
	Collett, Crout, Dychton, Fahmy,

Grimston, Hastrick, Hofman, Jeffree, J
Johnson, S Johnson, Kent, Laird,
Martins, Parker, Saffery, Scudder,
Sharpe, Steele, Taylor, Mayor
Thornhill, Watkin, Walford, Williams

Labour Group

Leader:	Councillor Bell
Deputy Leader	Councillor Dhindsa
Group Secretary	Councillor Asif Khan
Group Members:	Councillors: Bashir, Bell, Connal,
	Dhindsa, Ashan Khan, Asif Khan,
	Mauthoor, Mills, Shah, Smith,
	Turmaine

4.0 Implications

4.1 Legal issues

Notification of membership complies with the Council's Constitution, Procedure Rule 24.0 and with the requirements of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.

4.2 Other Implications

None

Background Papers:

Notifications submitted to the Democratic Services Manager under the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.

Appendices: None

File Reference: None